The 6th Annual GW Business Plan Competition finals were held yesterday. 113 entries were submitted in the first round and eventually ten teams made it to the finals. Six of these ten teams were either entirely SEAS faculty and students or included SEAS students. I am happy to report that we did very well (please see below). Congratulations to these teams, their mentors  and to everyone who participated. Thank you, David Dolling

BitGrid* , with team members Volker Sorger (asst professor in ECE), Charles Taylor SEAS BS ’15 and Justin Hyde CCAS BA ’15 and mentored by Wendolyn Holland won 3 prizes. They were:

  1. 2nd place overall ($15,000 prize)

  2. Blank Rome’s Best Undergraduate Prize ($10,000)

  3. A “We-Work”, 6 month membership in an incubator (worth $12,000)

Small Spacecraft Micropropulsion**, with team members Michael Keidar (professor in MAE), Samudra Haque SEAS PhD ’14,  George Teel SEAS MS ’14,  and Cameron Parvini  SEAS BS ’14  and mentored by Dr. Randy Graves (SEAS National Advisory Council immediate past chair) won 4th place overall (prize of $5000).

Pedal Forward ***, with team members Jeffrey Birenbaum SEAS BS ’14, Chris Deschenes GWSB BBA ’12, Elizabeth Hubler SEAS BS ’14 and Matthew Wilkins SEAS MS ’14 and mentored by Kerri Murphy won two prizes.

  1. GWupstart’s Best For-Profit Social Venture  (prize of $7500)

  2. Capital One Bank’s Best Sustainable Technology Prize (prize of $5000)


*BitGrid offers software solutions for distributed generation management to build a smarter grid and a more efficient country

**Small Spacecraft Propulsion provides low power and low mass electric propulsion solutions for small satellites

*** PedalForward’s mission is to create sustainable solutions to ill health and poverty through the manufacture, sale and use of bamboo bicycles

%d bloggers like this: